PolypHony, Opus 42. A Dance Concert

dc.contributor.advisor Fisher, Betsy
dc.contributor.author Carter, Sophia
dc.contributor.department Dance
dc.date.accessioned 2020-07-07T19:11:34Z
dc.date.available 2020-07-07T19:11:34Z
dc.date.issued 2020
dc.description.degree M.F.A.
dc.identifier.uri http://hdl.handle.net/10125/68974
dc.subject Dance
dc.subject Performing arts
dc.subject Belonging
dc.subject Body Percussion
dc.subject Choreography
dc.subject Collaborative Methods
dc.subject PAR
dc.subject Performance
dc.title PolypHony, Opus 42. A Dance Concert
dc.type Thesis
dcterms.abstract ABSTRACT PolypHony, Opus 42 is a concert displaying motion as the integral force of life. It is an effort to convey, through motion, community and human belonging in flux within a world that is both complex and harmonious. Aristotle of the 4th century BCE wrote, “In all things which have a plurality of parts, and which are not a total aggregate, but a whole of some sort distinct from the parts,..” He touches on the idea of identity as a whole entity being something other than just the sum of its parts. I apply this concept to community, that though we are all distinct individuals, there is a unique singular identity formed by coming together. By deriving inspiration from movement patterns in eco-systems, and abstracting patterns found in nature, such as the fibonacci sequence, I created a choreographic work to capture and highlight the relationship of interdependent and interweaving individuals creating a distinctive whole. All nine members of my cast open this four part series beginning with an a cappella body percussive section eluding to spontaneous generation. Then, supported by three Baroque orchestral pieces by Bach, Vitali, and Beethoven, the dancers develop ideas of creative ignition, growth, community, singularity, and connection through artistic kinesis. The choreographic process, the interplay between choreographer and dancers in the activity of movement creation is an integral part of my thesis work equal to the product itself. This is the documentation of that work, "Polyphony, Opus 42." which debuted in the Earle Ernst Lab at University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa on February 26th 2020. It is written in autobiographical format and arranged into three parts: the original thesis proposal, my choreographic process, and the culminating production.
dcterms.extent 69 pages
dcterms.language eng
dcterms.publisher University of Hawai'i at Manoa
dcterms.rights All UHM dissertations and theses are protected by copyright. They may be viewed from this source for any purpose, but reproduction or distribution in any format is prohibited without written permission from the copyright owner.
dcterms.type Text
local.identifier.alturi http://dissertations.umi.com/hawii:10668
Original bundle
Now showing 1 - 3 of 3
No Thumbnail Available
39.25 MB
Adobe Portable Document Format
No Thumbnail Available
Polyphony, Opus 42 (4-5 min edit).mp4
319.37 MB
No Thumbnail Available
Polyphony, Opus 42 In Concert February 29th 2020.mp4
529.26 MB