Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:

Round six of the Pacific tuna treaty talks : issues and developments

File Size Format  
RoundSixOfThePacificTunaTreatyTalks.pdf 2.3 MB Adobe PDF View/Open

Item Summary

Title:Round six of the Pacific tuna treaty talks : issues and developments
Authors:Doulman, David J.
East-West Center. Pacific Islands Development Program
LC Subject Headings:Tuna fisheries - Oceania
Date Issued:Feb 1986
Publisher:Honolulu, HI : Pacific Islands Development Program, East-West Center
Abstract:The sixth round of talks to conclude a multilateral tuna treaty between Pacific island countries and the United States ended at Kona, Hawaii, on February 1, 1986. Countries represented included Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Western Samoa. The representatives from the Pacific island countries met to review outstanding issues and to adopt a common negotiating position before meeting with the United States. This meeting was held in Honolulu from January 22 through January 25, 1986. Pacific island representatives came to the meeting with government approved briefs and through consensus and negotiation they skillfully wove agreed negotiating positions that satisfactorily reflected the views of their respective governments.
Description:For more about the East-West Center, see
Pages/Duration:13 p.
Appears in Collections: East-West Center Books, Reports, and Other Printed Media

Please email if you need this content in ADA-compliant format.

Items in ScholarSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.