Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:

Southeast Asia nuclear-weapon-free zone and the nuclear-weapon states

File Size Format  
APB no. 148.pdf 137.5 kB Adobe PDF View/Open

Item Summary

Title:Southeast Asia nuclear-weapon-free zone and the nuclear-weapon states
Authors:Crail, Peter
Liang, Xiaodon
Date Issued:07 Feb 2012
Publisher:Washington, D.C. : East-West Center in Washington
Series:Asia Pacific bulletin ; no. 148
Abstract:Following a decade-long impasse, the Southeast Asia Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone is finally on a path to being endorsed by the world’s five recognized nuclear-weapon states—China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Peter Crail, Nonproliferation Analyst at the Arms Control Association, and Xiaodon Liang, former Research Assistant at the Arms Control Association, explain that agreement by these nuclear powers to respect the prohibition of nuclear weapons in Southeast Asia and to provide legal assurances that they will not use such weapons against zone members helps to strengthen the commitment by regional states not to pursue nuclear weapons, and contributes more broadly to global nonproliferation and disarmament efforts.
Description:For more about the East-West Center, see
Pages/Duration:2 p.
Appears in Collections: Asia Pacific Bulletin

Please email if you need this content in ADA-compliant format.

Items in ScholarSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.