Chinese Language Education Association of Hawai'i (CLEAH) / 夏威夷華文教育協會

clo current president: Linette Char, 47-688 Alawiki Str., Kaneohe, HI 96744; Tel: 944-5800; e-mail Linette@punahou.edu

Mission: To promote the teaching and learning of Chinese language and culture in Hawai'i, by supporting 1) professional interchange among Chinese language teachers and 2) special extra-curricular opportunities for student learning.

History: CLEAH was founded with an inital grant of \$6,000 from the Hawai'i Department of Education. Founding members included Maylani Chang and Hope Staab of Punahou School, John Wollstein of the Hawai'i Department of Education, Joyce Leung of Roosevelt School, Tze-yi Chao of Iolani School, Wah Duk Young of Sun Yatsen School, and Larry Foster, Ying-che Li, and Daniel Tom of the University of Hawai'i–Manoa.

Founding president Joyce Leung recalls, "The formation of CLEAH was a direct result of a major crisis—the pending termination of the growing Mandarin program at Kawananakoa Intermediate School. Our hopes were to save the Kawananakoa program and to support the teaching of Chinese overall in Hawai'i. This period was very stressful and yet exciting—parents, students, educators and other concerned citizens packed the DOE's board-room and hallways to testify in support of maintaining Kawananakoa's Mandarin program; the leading daily newspapers also provided coverage. Eventually the program was saved, and CLEAH was born." The constitution of the Association was based upon that of the Hawai'i Association of Language Teachers (HALT); attorneys John Chang and Larry Foster helped the organization obtain non-profit status.

Membership: Full members include 32 Chinese language faculty teaching at East Oahu Chinese School, Hawai'i Baptist Academy, the Hawai'i Pacific University, Hokulani School, Iolani School, JAIMS, Kalani High School, Kapiolani Community College, Kawananakoa Intermediate School, Maryknoll School, Punahou School, Roosevelt HS, Tai Kong School, and the U. of Hawai'i at Manoa, who reach a total of nearly 1,000 students in Hawai'i.



Activities CLEAH participated in HALT's World Language Fair at Kapiolani Park in 1978, and in 1979–80 was prominently featured in the visit of President Carter's National Commission on Foreign Languages (delegation of 10 commissioners) to investigate the status of foreign languages in the U.S.

CLEAH publishes a directory of Chinese language teachers, schools, and student enrollments, and participates in state-wide speech fairs and the Lantern Festival during the Chinese New Year season. CLEAH has in the past also undertaken the following activities:

- published an organizational newsletter called CLEAH Notes;
- participated in the Kalani Honua Language Immersion Workshops on the Big Island, sponsored by the Hawai'i Department of Education;
- sponsored bi-annual Chinese Decathlons— first held in 1984 at Punahou School and subsequently rotating to Kaimuki and Iolani Schools, consisting of ten language-learning games in which mixed teams of students from various school compete for points and prizes;
- produced four installments of a *Sesame Street* -style video programs to teach Chinese, called *Cracked Seed Mix*, in collaboration with Oceanic Cablevision. These programs were shown on Oceanic's Community Programming channel and in school programs in the mid-1980s;
- hosted annual visitations by cultural consultants from Taiwan demonstrating various arts and crafts (including martial arts) beginning in 1990;
- sponsors an annual Chinese Language Cultural Festival for Chinese language students, beginning in 1998.



Above: Children participating in the Chinese Decathlon; Below: A lion dances for Ted Yao and Lily Lu at a Chinese Language Cultural Festival



Association presidents

19//–8	Joyce Leung, Roosevelt School
1978–9	Larry Foster, UH-Manoa
1979–80	Daniel Tom, UH-Manoa
1980–81	Maylani Chang, Punahou School
1981–83	Hope Staab, Punahou School
1983–86	Cynthia Ning, UH-Manoa.
1986–88	Tze-yi Chao, Iolani School
1988–90	Susan Goldberg, Mid-Pacific Inst
1990–92	Lily Lu, Maryknoll School
1992–93	Yao Wheeler, Maryknoll School
1993–94	Shufen Fujitani, Kapiolani CC
1994–95	Clara Chew, Roosevelt School
1995–98	Maylani Chang, Puhahou School
1998–01.	Tao-chung Yao, UH-Manoa
2001–03.	Maria AuHoy, JAIMS / HBA
2003–pres.	Linette Char, Punahou School