Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:


File Description SizeFormat 
vol25n4-521-528.pdf3.6 MBAdobe PDFView/Open

Item Summary

Title: Tortanus scaphus and Tortanus lophus, New Pacific Planktonic Copepods, with Notes on Tortanus murrayi (Calanoida, Tortanidae)
Authors: Bowman, Thomas E.
Issue Date: Oct-1971
Publisher: University of Hawai'i Press
Citation: Bowman TE. 1971. Tortanus scaphus and Tortanus lophus, new Pacific planktonic copepods, with notes on Tortanus murrayi (Calanoida, Tortanidae). Pac Sci 25(4): 521-528.
Abstract: The calanoid genus Tortanus contains 17
known species of predaceous copepods which
inhabit coastal waters of the world, except the
Antarctic, eastern North Atlantic, and Mediterranean.
All except T. vermimlus Shen (1955)
and T. denticulatus Shen & Lee (1963) are
listed in Jones and Park (1968). Two schemes
have been proposed to subdivide the genus Tortanus.
Steuer (1926) divided the eight species
then known into three groups, without giving
names to the groups. Sewell (1932) assigned
the seven Indian Ocean species to two subgenera,
Tortanus and Atortus. Sewell's subgenera
correspond exactly to two of Steuer's
groups, but Sewell made no mention of Steuer's
classification, even though he listed Steuer's
revision in his bibliography (Sewell, 1929).
ISSN: 0030-8870
Appears in Collections:Pacific Science Volume 25, Number 4, 1971

Items in ScholarSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.