## On Tong Tung Heong Society 安堂同鄉會

544 N. Vineyard Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817; Bus. Ph. (808) 845-8409.



*Mission:* To promote religion, education, charity and benevolence within its membership, develop a spirit of cooperation and unity for community welfare, and cooperate with other charitable societies.

*History:* On Tong Village is one of 72 in Loong Doo County, Chung Shan District in Guangdong Province. It was settled by the Lum (*Lin* 林) clan. Loosely translated, On Tong means "Peaceful Hall."

In the early 1900s, some On Tong villagers came to Hawai'i seeking work. A group of ten bachelors banded together to share monthly expenses and household chores, and provide each other emotional support. In 1926, five members of this group decided to form the On Tong Heong Society, and are considered the founding fathers. They were Cheong Wai Lum, Man Kwai Lum, Man Sing Lum, Sin Yau Lum, and Yat Kung Lum (elected president).

The original meeting place of the On Tong Society was on the second floor of a wooden building on Hotel Street at the corner of Smith Street. Operating on the lower floor was the Chinese newspaper called Liberty News. Later the meeting site was moved to a small cottage on Kukui Street between River and Hall Streets. At that time, St. Louis College was located nearby. On its third move and final move, On Tong Society relocated to its present site at 544 N. Vineyard Boulevard. Using funds, carpenters, masons and other trades-people from its membership, the construction of its two-story clubhouse was completed in 1935. This building is still used by its members on social occasions, to worship, to conduct business, or to just stop by and relax. In 1937, the On Tong Society received a charter of incorporation under the laws of the Territory of Hawaii.

## Activities

Activities include installation of new officers on January 1st (including a religious ceremony), observance of Chinese Memorial Day, and an annual get together for the entire membership.

Association presidents			
1926	Yet Keong Lum	1973	Yin Kwan Lum
1927	Chung Chee Lum	1974–75	Chung Chew Lum
1934	Sung Bow Lam	1976-77	Henry W.C. Lum
1936	Akana Kun Lum	1978	James S. Lum
1937	Mun Kwai Lum	1979-80	Chong Wai Lum
1938	Chee Koi Lum	1982-83	Mrs. Sin Yau Lum
1939	Mew Ching Lum	1984-85	Gordon G.W. Lum
1942	Bak Hin Lum	1986-87	Gerald T.C. Lum
1944	Ji Lim Lum	<i>1988</i>	Reuben W.K. Lum
1945	Kam Chock Lum	1990-91	Arnold W. Lam
1947	Sin Yau Lum	1993-94	Dwight C.H. Lum
1948	Quon Chock Lum	1995–97	Kam Goong Lam
1950	Kum Koong Lum	1998	Yin Kwon Lum
1951	Harold W.K. Lam		
1952	Ju Sung Lum		
1959	Sung Poon Lum		
1961	Clarence W.H. Lam		
1965	Chew On Lum		
1966	Kwai On Lum		
1967	Kwan Hau Lum		
1968	Lung Kong Lum		
1969–70	George W. H. Lum		
1971	Frederick H. Wai Lum		

## Membership:

The association currently has about 200 members. What are the conditions of membership (criteria, dues, responsibilities, etc)? What are the benefits of membership?